March 5, 2014

4th junior women national championship begins today

Thirty-two teams will be vying for  honours at the 4th Hockey India Junior Women National Championship, starting in Mysore on Wednesday.
The championships will be played on a league-cum-knockout basis at the Chamundi Vihar Stadium from March 5 to 23. It will take place in two phases Division A and B and there will be 16 teams competing in each division.  Division B of the championship will be played from March 5-13 while Division A will be played from March 15-23.
This edition will see two new teams - Hockey Gangpur, Odisha and Vidarbha Hockey Association. The inaugural match of Division B shall be played between Chhattisgarh and Himachal Pradesh in Pool C on March 5.
The idea for the NJCAA was conceived in 1937 at Fresno, California. A handful of junior college representatives met to organize an association that would promote and supervise a national program of junior college sports and activities consistent with the educational objectives of junior colleges.